Andrew Miller Policy Competition

To honour Andrew Miller’s legacy, SfAM has created the Andrew Miller Policy Competition, inviting participants to produce a short policy brief on a microbiology topic of their choice.

 “We fully endorse the chief scientist’s view that scientific research is not complete until it is communicated effectively.” 

Andrew Miller, 2014, “Communicating Climate Science” Commons Debate


Andrew Miller, former MP and first ever elected Chair of the House of Commons Science and Technology Select Committee, was pivotal in bridging the gap between science and UK policy both within SfAM and government.  

Andrew was instrumental in helping SfAM create and establish SfAM’s Policy Sub-Committee, paving the way for SfAM’s policy engagement work. You can read more about his influence on SfAM by reading Clare Taylor’s tribute to him here. 

To honour Andrew Miller’s legacy, SfAM has created the Andrew Miller Policy Competition, inviting participants to produce a mini-2- page policy brief on a microbiology topic of their choice. The competition enables participants to practice producing briefs using the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology’s (POST) brief format, which MPs and Peers rely on for accessible, unbiased scientific information.  

2021 Winning submission on GM Bacteria

SfAM is proud to announce this year's 2021 Andrew Miller Policy Competition winner is Harriet Gooch!

You can watch Harriet provide a synopsis of her winning submission on GM bacteria: potential uses and concerns, which explores potential future applications for using genetically modified (GM) bacteria belowYou can also read her policy brief here.


Harriet's winning submission on GM bacteria: potential uses and concerns was determined by our panel of 3 judges including:

Dame Sally Davies

Dame Sally is currently the UK Special Envoy on Antimicrobial Resistance and Master of Trinity College, Cambridge. She was the former Chief Medical Officer for England and Chief Medical Advisor to the UK government from March 2011 to September 2019. 

Grant Hill-Cawthorne

Grant is the current Director of Research at the House of Commons Library and previous Head of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST). He is also an Adjunct Associate Professor of Global Health at the University of Sydney after previously serving as Clinical Advisor to the Deputy Chief Executive of the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence, UK. 

Sarah Main

Sarah is the current Executive Director of Campaign for Science and Engineering (CaSE).  She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology, a Trustee of the British Science Association and of the Foundation for Science and Technology. She has been a member of advisory groups for influential policy reviews including the Centre for Social Justice's report, The Great British Breakthrough - Driving Productivity Growth in the UK, and the Reid review of Government Funded Research and Innovation in Wales.