Science Policy Workshop 2019

SfAM's first ever policy workshop held with the Microbiology Society was a roaring success.

Our first ever joint Science Policy Workshop held in partnership with the Microbiology Society took place on Monday 25 November 2019 at the Wesley Hotel and Conference Centre in London. The workshop was attended by 23 SfAM and 16 Microbiology Society delegates consisting of primarily early career scientists but also representatives from the National Biofilms Innovation Centre and the Animal and Plant Health Agency (APHA).

Delegates heard about the various ways science can influence policy and ways policy can influence science from a range of science policy experts, including: Grant Hill-Cawthorne, Head of the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology, Christopher Brown, Science and Technology Committee, Rebecca Asher, Sense about Science, Daniel Rathbone, Campaign for Science and Engineering and Ben Bleasdale, Wellcome Trust. In addition, delegates heard from Policy Officers from both societies about the role that SfAM and the Microbiology Society play in supporting the voice of microbiology and influencing policy stakeholders.

The afternoon session consisted of two breakout activities allowing delegates to explore the political impacts of current or previous research projects. Participants were then provided the opportunity to debate both policy- and science-driven processes surrounding significant challenges facing the microbiology community. This workshop concluded with a drinks reception and networking opportunity.

The Society has received very positive feedback with 100% of SfAM delegates participating in our feedback survey stating that the event provided them with a platform to consider the science policy impact of their research and 100% would recommend the event to friends and colleagues.

If you missed out on our Science Policy Workshop,the Policy Team are looking to provide similar science policy opportunities in the future, so please ensure you keep an eye on our webpages and newsletters for updates.

Lucky Cullen

Science Policy Officer